A living brand for SignDict

Variations of the SignDict logo.

SignDict is community-driven, and so is the logo. When signing up for the platform each user is asked to draw their own interpretation of the bookmark logo, resulting in a visual variety of forms as diverse as the community.

Pause
Unmute
A customized version of Appeltje

SignDict is an online dictionary for sign language, aiming to spread knowledge and awareness. It certainly isn’t the first of its kind. What sets SignDict apart is the interactive approach. Much like anyone can edit an article on wikipedia, SignDict invites its users to record and upload new gestures or variations of existing ones (yes, there are dialects in sign language as well). If you want to learn more, head on over to signdict.org

Amazed by the open source spirit of the project we (zweitag) offered to provide a brand design pro bono. In close collaboration with SignDict’s creator a simple and living brand was created, among with a dedicated version of my Appeltje Typeface and custom illustration.

For: SignDict
Role: Brand Development, Visual Design, Digital Design, Type Design
With: zweitag

Eine lebendige Marke für SignDict

Variationen des SignDict Logos.

SignDict ist community-driven – das gilt auch für das Logo. Bei der Anmeldung zur Platform wird jeder Nutzer gebeten seine eigene Interpretation des Logos zu zeichnen. So entsteht eine visuelle Vielfalt, die ebenso bunt gemischt ist wie die Community selbst.

Pause
Unmute
Eine angepasste Version der Appeltje

SignDict ist ein online Wörterbuch für Gebärdensprache, mit dem Ziel Wissen und Bewusstsein über die Situation von Gehörlosen zu verbreiten. SignDict wird dadurch einzigartig, dass es ein offenes Wörterbuch ist, bei dem jeder Nutzer eigene Gebärden aufnehmen und hochladen kann. So entsteht eine nach und nach immer vollständigere Sammlung über die deutsche Gebärdensprache mit all ihren Dialekten (Ja, es gibt Dialekte in der Gebärdensprache).

Beeindruckt vom OpenSource-Gedanken hinter dem Projekt boten wir (ein kleines Team bei zweitag) unsere Hilfe bei der Entwicklung und Gestaltung der Marke an. In enger Zusammenarbeit mit SignDict’s Gründer Bodo Tasche entstand eine einfache und lebendige visuelle Marke mit einer angepassten Version der Appeltje und plakativen Illustrationen.

Für: SignDict
Rolle: Markenentwicklung, visuelles Erscheinungsbild, Schriftgestaltung
Mit: zweitag